Awards, distinctions and prizes

Science prize by the Deutsche Bundesbank 2017

The Deutsche Bundesbank (Regional Office in Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Schleswig-Holstein) awards a science prize to honour outstanding dissertations and theses which focus on a topic that is relevant to central bank activities.

Prize winners:

Dr Martin Ademmer, nee Plödt
Institute for Statistics and Econometrics
Dissertation: "Essays in Macroeconometrics"

Josefine Quast
Department of Economics
Master’s thesis: "Financial Cycles and the Implications for Financial Stability"

Deutsche Bank prize 2018

During the graduation ceremony held by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences, the Deutsche Bank AG awards a prize for the best Bachelor’s thesis and the best Master’s thesis in the field of Economics.

Prize winner for the best Bachelor’s thesis: Clemens Gersch
Titel "Kapitalkosten bei Insolvenzgefahr"

Prize winners for the best Master’s theses: Mariia Okuneva
Titel "Measuring uncertainty: a text-based approach"


Erich Schneider prize

As part of the memorial lecture held by the Department of Economics in honour of Professor Dr Dr h.c. mult. Erich Schneider, the directors of the Department award the Erich Schneider prize for the best dissertations. Professor Schneider (14.12.1900 – 05.12.1970) was an important economic theorist and a defining figure in German economics. Among other things, he was employed from 1946 to 1969 as Professor of Theoretical Economics at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences at Kiel University, and he served as President of the Kiel Institute for the World Economy from 1961 to 1969.

The directors of the Department of Economics also present awards for the best students of the year in the Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programmes during the graduation ceremony held by the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences.

Prize winner for the best dissertation in 2018: Dr Lena Mareike Detlefsen:  the title of her dissertation was “Explaining Inequality in Economic Outcomes: An Empirical and Experimental Approach"

Prize winner for the best Master´s thesis in 2018: Mariia Okuneva
"Measuring uncertainty: a text-based approach"

Prize winner for best Bachelor ´s thesis in 2018:
Mark Simon Landt: "Konjunkturschwankungen bei wechselnden Erwartungen"
Nils Müller: "Bounded Rationality and Switching Dynamics im neukeynesianischen Grundmodell"

Faculty prize

Kiel University awards the faculty prize every year for the best dissertations. The following person was awarded this prize on Wednesdy, 5th of June 2019  for his outstanding doctoral achievements at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences:

Dr Wassili Lasarov, Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences
“Social and Dynamical Influences on Individual Rationalization Processes in Moral Consumption”